menu
person
Check out the latest additions to our ever expanding GALLERY hosting over 65,000 photos!
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
Summer-Glau.com Forum » Off Topic » The Water Cooler » Oldies but goodies : "Star Wars Kid" video
Oldies but goodies : "Star Wars Kid" video
chrisdvanne_Date: Tuesday, 12 Jul 2011, 20:30 | Message # 1
Group: Administrators
At the risk of being perceived as a noob, i must confess i discovered "Star Wars Kid" video only last year.

For those of you who don't know it yet, this video was made in 2003.
It started when a college boy went to the video room of his college and decided to film himself imitating Luke Skywalker; for a few minutes he twirled with a broom like a Jedi in a fury.

He left the tape in the camera but friends of him found it and decided to upload it on peer to peer; it went viral (i don't think the term was used at the time) very quickly. The funny thing is that internet users decided to improve the video by adding special effects of any king, music,...Thre is hundreds of version that you can find on Youtube.

Here is the original and then a random fx version :

You can also find me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr or Youtube

BlaziusDate: Tuesday, 12 Jul 2011, 23:58 | Message # 2
Group: Friends
I love SW so I'm very glad that you posted something related to it.

I always thinking that the lightsaber effect can't be really hard to reproduce because every amateur seems to capable doing it but still its the very thing that made Lucas famous and really rich. He made money from a seemingly really simple effect.

Summer Glau is so awesome, it isn't even funny!
Blood for the Blood God! Skulls for the Skull Throne!

chrisdvanne_Date: Wednesday, 13 Jul 2011, 00:11 | Message # 3
Quote (Blazius)
He made money from a seemingly really simple effect.

Also the sound attached to the light saber is fascinating; great find from the FX and sounds guys.