menu
person
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Summer-Glau.com Forum » Off Topic » The Water Cooler » Please introduce yourself (Greetings new members)
Please introduce yourself
Alex Post # 91 | Wednesday, 14 Dec 2011 - 19:39
Group: Bloggers
Hello All. My name is Alex and I just joined. I have been lurking for a few months on this forum and I really enjoy reading what people have to say. You strike me as a very dedicated and appreciative group of fans who have Summer's best interests at heart.

Where do you come from?

I am from Toronto but I am originally from Quebec.

What is your country?

Canada

What do you work with?

I am an engineer (mechanical) by training but for the last 24 years, I have worked as a technical writer in aerospace, telecommunications, robotics, software development, and IT. Although I am still a working writer, I am easing into retirement and I am working less. Because I have more time, I am able to indulge my interests in science fiction and fantasy.

How did you became a fan of Summer Glau?

By happenstance really as I was looking for a science fiction film to watch and I had recently opened up an iTunes account. I came across the film Serenity and I rented it. I was blown away by the power and beauty of her performance as well as her incredible talent as an actress. This happened in early 2011. Within a few days, I had downloaded Serenity, T:TSCC, Dollhouse, and I had bought DVD copies of her other works.

What do you admire most about her?

She is just so good as an actress. She is able to portray her characters with conviction and it is hard to take my eyes off her. I find that even in her less popular works such as Mammoth, she still turns in good performances. I think she is under rated and as an actress, I rank her with Cate Blanchett, Judy Dench, Laura Linney, and other great actresses.

What was the first show you saw her in?